John Sebastian

It's in keeping with John Sebastian's self-deprecating charm that this album should be entitled One Guy, One Guitar. It's an accurate description, of course, but what you also get are great songs, great picking and a masterclass in communicating with an audience.

Sebastian's repertoire in these Cambridge Folk Festival appearances, recorded for BBC Radio 1 in 1981 and 1984, include favourites from his Lovin' Spoonful Days and gems from past and future solo albums, including unique versions of the hit singles, Daydream, Nashville Cats & Darling Be Home Soon.

The 12 page full colour booklet features John's recollections of the shows, additional liner notes, several photographs and full recording details.

"Somewhere between the old Memphis guys and the teeny Celtic lady, I start to lose it. To get back to performance mode I have to take an extra step and, as with most things, that extra step often lands you to new ground..."


1. Welcome Back
2. Nashville Cats
3. Looking For Something More
4. Dixie Chicken
5. Where Ever You Are
6. She's A Lady
7. Rooty Toot
8. Make Up Your Mind
9. Daydream
10. Mobile Line
11. Smokey Don't Go
12 A Younger Girl
13. Jug Band Music
14. Rain On the Roof
15. Introduction To Tar Beach
16. Tar Beach
17. Fishing Blues
18. Darling Be Home Soon

Tracks 1-9 recorded 02.08.81 at the Cambridge Folk Festival

Tracks 10-18 recorded 29.07.84 at the Cambridge Folk Festival

Press to play


Hux logo