Auto Da Fe

This Irish band was formed in 1980 by Gay Woods and Trevor Knight. Gay had formerly been the vocalist with bands such as Steeleye Span, she rejoined that band in 1994.

This album features two previously unreleased concerts, recorded by the BBC in March 1983 and November 1983. The second concert features Phil Lynott on bass and backing vocals.

Gay Woods is an interesting  and talented vocal performer who brings to mind a mixture of Patti Smith, Sonja Kristina and Annie Lennox in an eighties synth-pop-rock setting.

The 8-page booklet includes extensive liner notes by Colin Harper, author of Dazzling Stranger: Bert Jansch and the British folk and blues revival,  rare band photos and full recording details.


Hux logo

1. The Merchant
2. Auto Da Fe
3. Girl Boy Difference
4. When The Curtain Goes Bang
5. He Is Just An Irish Catholic
6. Cellophane Rain
7. Traitor
8. November November
9. Man Of Mine
10. Bad Experience
11. The Merchant
12. Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart

Tracks 1-5 recorded 30.03.83 for Radio 1 "In Concert" broadcast 16.04.83

Tracks 6-12 recorded 09.11.83 for Radio 1 "In Concert" broadcast 03.12.83

Press to play