Kitty Wells

Kitty Wells broke down the doors for female country singers, paving the way for artists like Patsy Cline, Tammy Wynette and Loretta Lynn. After a string of hits from the 1950s to the early 1970s, earning her the title 'Queen of Country Music', Kitty Wells was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1974. She later won a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award, in 1991.

This '2on1' compilation combines Kitty's first two Decca LPs, originally released in 1956 & 1957 and now reissued on CD together for the first time. Featured here are eight top 10 country hit singles, including the classic, 'It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels'.

The accompanying booklet includes photographs, liner notes and full lyrics to every featured track.  CD digitally remastered by Ron Geesin.

This timely reissue coincides with the release of Laura Cantrell's new album of Kitty Wells cover versions, 'Kitty Wells Dresses: Songs of the Queen of Country Music'




    Hux logo

Track Listing:

1. Making Believe
2. Release Me
3. Cheating's A Sin
4. There's Poison In Your Heart
5. I've Kissed You My Last Time
6. Whose Shoulder Will You Cry On
7. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
8. Things I Might Have Been
9. Back Street Affair
10. I Don't Claim To Be An Angel
11. I'm Too Lonely To Smile
12. Searching For A Soldier's Grave
13. Each Day
14. Dancing With A Stranger
15. Mansion On The Hill
16. Change Of Heart
17. Standing Room Only
18. I Guess I'll Go On Dreaming
19. Winner Of Your Heart
20. Pace That Kills
21. Stubborn Heart
22. Right Or Wrong
23. Broken Marriage Vow
24. She's No Angel


 Press to play