During the period spanning late 1969 - 1972 Quintessence were one of Britain's most powerful and most popular live acts.

Immediately after leaving Quintessence, vocalist Phil 'Shiva' Jones and guitarist Dave 'Maha Dev' Codling had formed Kala.

Beset by bizarre personnel issues, and in the hands of a record label which somehow found defeat in the jaws of what should have been a victory for all concerned, Kala nevertheless managed to release one overlooked gem of an album and a couple of blistering live tracks during its brief existence.

The album featured some titles which were in a similar vein to Quintessence, with others nodding towards the popular boogie and country-rock of contemporaries like the Faces.

Now exquisitely remastered by Ron Geesin, with two previously unreleased live tracks and two brand new vocal takes, this CD debut of Kala's complete works has been compiled with the full co-operation of Phil and Dave.

The accompanying 16 page full colour booklet includes extensive liner notes by Colin Harper, an interview with the band, and recollections on each track by Shiva Jones.

In June this year, Shiva and Dave's reformed Quintessence will be performing at the 40th Glastonbury Festival - 40 years after storming the very first. At the time of writing, it seems they may well perform 'Still Got Time' and 'Thirsty Generation' from the Kala LP.




    Hux logo

Track Listing:

1. Travelling Home
2. Sun
3. Thirsty Generation
4. Pearl
5. Meditations
6. Still Got Time
7. Hallelujah
8. Honey Of Love
9. Come On Around To My House
10. Before You Leave
11. Going Down Slow
12. Honey Of Love
13. Meditations (2010 mix)
14. Still Got Time (2010 mix)

Tracks 1-8 from the 1973 LP Kala
9-10 from the 1973 LP Bradley's Roadshow: Live At The Marquee
11-12 live in 1973 (previously unreleased)
13-14 feature new vocals from Phil 'Shiva' Jones (previously unreleased).

 Press to play