The Violent Femmes

The Violent Femmes formed in 1981 in Milwaukee. The following year, they supported The Pretenders on tour, after Chrissie Hynde & James Honeyman Scott had ‘discovered’ them busking in the local streets.

The trio then released their eponymous debut LP - a masterpiece of minimal, mostly acoustic, Americana which borrowed from influences as diverse as 50s rock’n’roll, doo-wop, gospel, old-time folk music, The Velvet Underground and punk. That album eventually went on to achieve platinum status.

By 1991, their 10th anniversary, the Femmes had five successful studio albums and a ‘best of’ compilation under their belt. During the summer of ’91, the band played a sell-out tour of the UK including one show at London’s Town & Country Club. That concert was recorded by the BBC and is now released here for the first time.

This CD, which includes a great version of their classic anthem ‘Blister In The Sun’, captures the essence of the band live, and the powerful relationship with its audience.

The accompanying 12 page booklet includes comprehensive liner notes, rare photographs and full recording details.


Hux logo



  1. Look Like That
  2. Promise
  3. Out The Window
  4. Country Death Song
  5. Prove My Love
  6. Fat
  7. Flamingo Baby
  8. Good Feeling
  9. Ugly
  10. Gimme The Car
  11. Blister In The Sun
  12. American Music
  13. Kiss Off
  14. Life Is A Scream

Recorded at the Town & Country Club, London 20 July 1991 for broadcast in the Radio 1 'In Concert' series

Gordon Gano - guitar, vocals

Brian Ritchie - bass, backing vocals

Victor De Lorenzo - drums, backing vocals


Press to play