Neil Innes

Neil Innes is one of the most important figures in British musical comedy.  He has the rare ability of a side-splitting satirist who can also write perfectly straightforward, catchy pop songs. 

Neil originally found fame in the mid 1960s with The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band.  After the demise of the Bonzos, he went on to work with, among others, Eric Idle and Monty Python

This CD includes two of his best loved solo albums, released together on one CD for the first time.  The 8 page booklet features extensive liner notes and rare photographs. 

‘Taking Off’ was originally released in 1977 and is a collection of songs ranging from the corny country of ‘Crystal Balls’, to the sugar coated offering of ‘La Vie En Rose’. In between we have songs about love, death, sex, murder, fantastic places, God and religion. 

‘The Innes Book of Records’ was originally released in 1979. Among other great tunes, it contains the very lovely instrumental ‘Theme’, plus tales of teenage love in ‘Kenny and Liza’, and married life in ‘Love is Getting Deeper’.



Hux logo


 1. Crystal Balls

 2. Catch Phrase           

 3. God Is Love               

 4. Randy Raquel            

 5. Shangri-La                        

 6. Drama On A Saturday Night             

 7. Dreams Shine Through    

 8. Busy Day                                  

 9. Three Piece Suite    

10. La Vie en Rose              

11. Here We Go Again

12. Montana Café

13. All In The Name Of Love

14. Kenny & Liza

15. Amoeba Boogie

16. Theme

17. Human Race

18. Spontaneous

19. Love Is Getting Deeper

20. Etcetera

Press to play