Gypsy - The Romany Collection

Gypsy were one of the great attractions at the Isle Of Wight 1969 Festival.

A couple of years later, they released their debut eponymous album which drew favourable comparisons with Buffalo Springfield and Moby Grape.

Gypsy's sound had a unique vocal and guitar style, and the tight arrangements of a band that not only played together but grew up together.

The Romany Collection brings together the long awaited reissue of Gypsy's first album, plus both sides of their debut single and six previously unreleased studio tracks.

This album was compiled with the full co-operation of the band, who provided photographs for the 8 page booklet and assisted with the extensive liner notes.


Hux logo


1. What Makes A Man A Man?
2. Keep On Trying
3. I Don't Care, Do You Mind?
4. Turning Wheel
5. Feel About The Country Fine
6. Standing Alone, Feeling So Bad
7. I Wanna Be Beside You
8. Please Don't Stay
9. Let Me Take You Home
10. Pony Ride
11. Changes Comin'
12. Don't Cry On Me
13. Listen To The Music
14. I Don't Wanna Lose You
15. I Guess She'll Have To Know
16. There's A Party
17. It Don't Bother Me
18. What A Day

Collectors note: Tracks 11-18 were mastered from vinyl, and this can be detected in the sound quality (unfortunately, the original master tapes were lost several years ago).


Robin Pizer - acoustic and electric guitars, vocals

John Knapp - acoustic/electric 12 string guitars, keyboards, vocals

Rod Read - acoustic and electric guitars, vocals

Dave (Mac) McCarthy - bass, vocals

Moth Smith - drums, percussion

Press to play