Help Yourself

Formed in London in 1969, Help Yourself released four very fine albums which drew heavily on the sound of West Coast outfits like Buffalo Springfield and Quicksilver Messenger Service.

In 1973 they began recording their fifth album. However, these sessions were never completed, the album was never released, and the band split later that year.

That legendary 'lost 5th album' has been highly sought after by collectors ever since.

After the band split, Malcolm Morley joined 'Man', while the rest of his former colleagues teamed up with 'Deke Leonard's Iceberg'.

Eventually, in the winter of 2002, the original Help Yourself band members, augmented by drummer Kevin Spacey, gathered once more to finally complete their fifth album.

Appropriately titled '5', it is now released here for the first time. The cover features an original illustration by the legendary Rick Griffin and the booklet includes a liner note from Malcolm Morley.


Hux logo


1. Light Your Way
2. Cowboy Song
3. Monkey Wrench
4. Romance In A Tin
5. Grace
6. Martha
7. Monkey Wrench (reprise)
8. The Rock
9. Willow
10. Alley Cat
11. Duneburgers


Tracks 1-3,5-7,9,11 recorded 1973

Richard Treece - guitar
Ken Whaley - bass
Malcom Morley - vocals, guitar & piano
Dave Charles - drums, vocal (Track 11)
Sean Tyla - guitar (Tracks 3,7,11)
Deke Leonard - guitar solo (Track 1)

Tracks 4,8 & 10 recorded 2002/3

Malcolm Morley - vocals, guitar & keyboards
Richard Treece - guitar
Ken Whaley - bass guitar, vocals (Track 10)
Kevin Spacey - drums

Press to play