Soft Machine BBC Radio 1967-1971

This first volume contains all the sessions recorded for John Peel's 'Top Gear' programme. This features several previously unreleased recordings, including the 1967 session with Kevin Ayers on bass, guitar and vocals. The running order is mostly chronological, but has been tinkered with by Robert Wyatt, "for reasons of aural satisfaction".

The cover design features an abstract 'photograph' by Robert Wyatt and the booklet includes a liner note each from Hugh Hopper and Kevin Ayers. It also has detailed liner notes by Mark Ellingham and several band pictures by the great photographer, Mark Ellidge.


Hux logo

Also available on Hux Records:
Soft Machine BBC Radio 1971-1974

Soft Machine


1. Clarence In Wonderland
2. We Know What You Mean
3. Certain Kind
4. Hope For Happiness
5. Strangest Scene Recorded
6. Facelift/Mousetrap/Noisette/Backwards/Mousetrap Reprise
7. The Moon In June
8. Instant Pussy
9. Slightly All The Time/Out Bloody Rageous/Eamonn Andrews
CD 2
1. Virtually
2. Fletcher's Blemish
3. Neo-Caliban Grides
4. Dedicated To You But You Weren't Listening
5. Eamonn Andrews/All White
6. Mousetrap/Noisette/Backwards/Mousetrap Reprise/Esther's Nose Job

CD1 Tracks 1-5 Recorded 5.12.67 First transmission 17.12.67 Track 6-7 Recorded 10.6.69 First transmission 15.6.69 Track 8 Recorded 10.11.69 First transmission 29.11.69 Track 9 Recorded 4.5.70 First transmission 16.5.70

CD2 Tracks 1-2 Recorded 15.12.70 First transmission 2.1.71 Track 3-5 Recorded 1.6.71 First transmission 26.6.71 Track 6 Recorded 10.11.69 First transmission 29.11.69

Press to play