Ernie Graham

Ernie Graham began his musical career in the 1960s, when he formed Eire Apparent with Henry McCullogh. The band toured extensively, supporting Jimi Hendrix, Pink Floyd & Soft Machine.

Eire Apparent disbanded at the end of the 60s and Henry McCullogh went on to form The Grease Band.

Ernie then recorded his eponymous debut album in 1971, recruiting the members of Brinsley Schwarz (including Nick Lowe) and Help Yourself as his backing band. At the time of it's original release, this album drew comparisons with Dylan, The Band and Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.

Original copies of this album now change hands for upwards of £90.

After joining Help Yourself for a brief period, including their performance at the first Glastonbury Festival, Ernie then formed his new band Clancy. Ernie's only other solo recording was a single released on Stiff Records in 1979. This was a cover of the Phil Lynott song, 'Romeo (And The Lonely Girl)', backed with the self-penned 'Only Time Will Tell'.

Ernie's complete solo recordings are now released here on CD for the first time; The 1971 album and both sides of the 1979 Stiff single.

The accompanying 8 page booklet features extensive liner notes and several rare photographs, from the private collection of Ernie's family.


For A Little While

Romeo And The Lonely Girl

Hux logo

1. Sebastian
2. So Lonely
3. Sea Fever
4. The Girl That Turned The Lever
5. For A Little While
6. Blues To Snowy
7. Don't Want Me Round You
8. Belfast
Bonus Tracks:
9. Romeo And The Lonely Girl
10. Only Time Will Tell

Tracks 1-8 feature Ernie Graham (guitar,vocals), Bob Andrews (organ,accordion,guitar,piano,harmonies), Ian Gomm (guitar, harmonies), Nick Lowe (bass, harmonies), Billy Rankin (drums), Brinsley Schwarz (guitar), Ken Whaley (bass) amongst others

Press to play