Ed Bruce

Two stunning LPs from one of the original Sun Records artists, and the composer of the classic country hit, 'Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys'.

Ed Bruce was one of the original Sun Records artists, and released his first records at the age of just 17. He subsequently enjoyed a long and successful musical career, and his résumé contains no less than eight BMI Award winning songs.

His legendary composition, 'Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys', became an enormous success for Waylon Jennings and Willie Nelson, when they recorded it as a duo in 1977.

The two Ed Bruce albums on this CD were originally released in 1977 & 1978. They have now been digitally re-mastered and are reissued here together on CD for the first time.

These two LPs contain some truly outstanding and memorable country music, performed in Ed's rich and resonant baritone, supported by the cream of Nashville musicians and with first rate production from Buddy Killen.

Included here is Ed's signature tune, 'When I Die, Just Let Me Go To Texas'. This song was later a huge hit for Tanya Tucker, who re-titled it, 'Texas (When I Die)'.

The accompanying 12 page booklet includes photographs, liner notes and full lyrics to all of the featured tracks.




     Hux logo

Track Listing:

1. Man Made Of Glass
2. Star Studded Nights
3. Never Take Candy From A Stranger
4. Am I Gonna Have To Burn Atlanta Down
5. When I Die Just Let Me Go To Texas
6. Love Somebody To Death
7. I Can't Seem To Get The Hang Of Telling Her Goodbye
8. Wedding Dress
9. I've Not Forgot Marie
10. Ain't No Good Chain Gang
11. Angeline
12. I Really Didn't Have A Thing To Do Today
13. The Greatest Love Song
14. Kentucky Boy, California Man
15. The Family
16. Old Wore Out Cowboy
17. The Man That Turned My Mama On
18. He Brings Your Memory Back Again
19. Miracle Express
20. Give My Old Memory A Call

 Press to play